Warriors face SA, Ghana, Ethiopia in tough 2022 World Cup qualifiers

By Sports Reporter

ZIMBABWE has been drawn against neighbours South Africa, Ghana and Ethiopia in Group G of the 2022 World Cup qualifiers with finals to be played in Qatar.

The draw was conducted in Cairo, Egypt on Tuesday.

There are 10 groups from which the winners will earn automatic qualification to the next phases of the competition.

Zimbabwe has never qualified for the world’s highest football tournament while South Africa and Ghana have both been there with the African economic giant having hosted the 2010 edition of the extravaganza.

A football loving country, Zimbabwe’s closest opportunity of qualifying for the World Cup was back in the 1990s when they lost to Cameroon with just 90 minutes separating the legendary Dream Team from a berth in the America 1994.

The current Warriors squad has no substantive coach.

CAF African WC qualifying groups in full:

Group A: Algeria, Burkina Faso, Niger, Djibouti,

Group B: Tunisia, Zambia, Mauritania, Equatorial Guinea,

Group C: Nigeria, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Liberia

Group D: Cameroon, Ivory Coast, Mozambique, Malawi

Group E: Mali, Uganda, Kenya, Rwanda

Group F: Egypt, Gabon, Libya, Angola

Group G: Ghana, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Ethiopia

Group H: Senegal, Congo, Namibia, Togo

Group I: Morocco, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Sudan

Group J: DR Congo, Benin, Madagascar, Tanzania

Staff Reporter

The author Staff Reporter