Bosso, Dembare brace for epic Uhuru clash


Zimstar Sports

Old foes Highlanders and Dynamos renew their rivalry in a potentially explosive Independence Cup final with both sides keen on preserving their rich history in uhuru cup duels.

The invitational match is part of the 42nd Independence Day celebrations and is set to put a lid to a glut of festivities lined up for the annual commemorations at Barbourfields this Monday.

The two teams are still to meet in this year’s premiership campaign and will use the clash to feel each other’s strength ahead of Week 15 when they lock horns in the first points-based tie.

Dynamos will bank on their current premiership form which has seen the Harare giants top the premiership log standings with 23 points from 11 games played so far.


Highlanders lie 10th with 14 points from the same number of games.

But they will be quick to remember that form has never been a major determinant in cup ties as fortune could still favour the enemy.

Highlanders head coach Mandla Mpofu has promised to deploy his most potent machine to secure a positive result.  

“On Monday, I am bringing full strength Highlanders, it’s a full-strength team that will play.


“As much as you want to make sure that we give these other players game time, it’s not an easy game, we will not go there and try some experiment. We are going full force with the first team players,” said the Bosso gaffer.

Dynamos also look set to deploy a full-strength squad judging by the list of players who travelled to Bulawayo for the clash.

Coach Tonderayi Ndiraya travelled with Taimon Mvula, Prince Tafiremutsa, Partson Jaure, Godknows Murwira, Frank Makarati, Emmanuel Jalai, Tinotenda Muringai, Arnold Mawadza, Sylvester Appiah, Ralph Kawondera, Shadreck Nyahwa, Trevor Mavunga, Tinashe Makanda, Evans Katema, Junior Makunike, Bill Antinio, Issa Sadiki, Emmanuel Paga, Keith Murera, Brandon Mpofu and Stephen Chatikobo.

This year’s winners will pocket ZW$6 million while the runners-up will get ZW$4,5 million.

Kick-off is at 2pm.

Dynamos are the cup holders having won the clash 2-0 last year against the same opponent.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Zimstar News has notice you have adblocker turned on. Kindly turn it off to access this page.