Zimstar News

Senior MDC Alliance officials have denied some of the seven individuals flaunted Saturday by Zanu PF as fresh defectors to the ruling party belonged to the opposition party in the first place.

According to both Zanu PF and state media, seven senior members from the beleaguered opposition crossed the political floor to Zanu PF with a promise to work hard for the benefit of the party.

They are Emmanuel Chiroto, Farai Nyandoro, Chadamoyo Solomon Machingura, Peter Chandafira, Carlos Mudzongo, Simon Chidhakwa and Charles Masimike.

They were paraded just before the Zanu PF politburo meeting with Chidhaka, a former Zengeza West legislator saying they have joined President Emmerson Mnangagwa’s party on their own volition while also promising to work for the development of the country.


However, MDC secretary general Charlton Hwende and party deputy chair Job Sikhala both poured scorn on the said defections, insisting the defecting politicians did not belong to their party.

“ED is Panicking and Desperate rambai makadzvanya pa #RegisterToVote2023. Most names of the alleged senior members I have seen them for the first time. They have even created a new post of SG for Veterans which is not in our Constitution. Zanupf is all about deception & Fraud,” Hwende said via his Twitter handle.

Sikhala also derided the event as a joke.

“As we speak ladies and gentlemen 8 former members of the MDC T are at State House to stage a defection to ZANU PF.


“These include a former Chitungwiza MP, some former Mayors and Deputy Mayors of Harare, Marondera, Chiredzi and Kadoma plus a Musimiki from Bikita.

“These are jokes.”

MDC Alliance sympathiser and academic Pedzisai Ruhanya also described the event as cheap propaganda.

He dismissed the politicians as “political rejects, people who lost internal elections in MDC during the Morgan Tsvangirai era as defectors to ZANU PF”.

He added, “Vanhu vakapera kare, kare (spent forces), who lead nobody.”

Both MDC factions have in the recent past, seen defections of some senior party members to Zanu PF.

These include former legislators James Makore, Obert Gutu and Blessing Chebundo.

Adblock Detected

Zimstar News has notice you have adblocker turned on. Kindly turn it off to access this page.